Faroese tradition – DIY

image

A faroese tradition has always been to DIY. Whether it’s knitting, sewing, crochet or something totally different most faroese people know how to do something. Today I was at work for the Faroese Homemade company – a community with members of all ages and from everywhere around the islands.

image

image

Here you can buy all sorts of thing but the unique thing about the merchandise is that everything is homemade.

image

image

Hand knitted socks and mittens.

image

Sweaters in different shapes and colours.

image

Purses and wallets. Even my own design By Olafsdóttir is for sale in the store.

image

image

image

Accessories from wool and sheeps horn.

image

Bottle cover and snaps “glass” in traditional Faroese clothing.

I am proud to be faroese and happy that I have inherited the spirit and ability to do it youself! And I look forward to learn more traditional craft from my mother and grandmother. And most of qll I am happy to have found a husband that supports me with all his heart and encourages me to keep doing what I love – Being creative.

Leave a Reply

