Faroese Summer – Shearing Sheep

image

Summer for me means a lot of farm work and shearing sheep is one of them. Usually it takes two good days to get all of them done.

image

First of all we need to get the sheep down from the mountain, that includes a lot of walking and some running.

image

Lady, as the sheepdog she is, of course gets to tag along. This year though she needs to be on a leash, because she is only a puppy at heart and still doesn’t really get how it’s suppose to be done. Although she did pretty well fir being her first time.

image

It went okey this year. We got almost all of them down.

image

And of course men needed a break after all of the walking and running.

image

“Back to work, the sheep are waiting” someone yelled.

image

We don’t shear the lambs here in The Faroe Islands. It’s to cold, even in the summer for them to be able to survive if they get sheared.

image

However we do vaccinate them, which became my job. Someone read my blog on when we helped out at the cattle ranch in Canada and figured, if I could vaccinate cows I had to vaccinate the sheeo to.

image

This ones horns where growing to close to his head, so he had to have a little trim.

image

And my Grandfather was in charge of de worming medicine, every sheep needs that.

image

a Scottish Blackhead, my favorite kind of sheep, ready to be sheared.

image

Even some women help out at this particular time. Shearing wool is an easy womans job, some said. I on the other hand grew up following my Grandfather arround, so I do everything. Even the jobs that are considered to be the men’s job. I can’t count how many times I have heard the words “Harriet, you need to act more like a Lady” hehehe.

image

image

But in the end of the day all that really matters is that the job is well done rigth?

image

And that there is time for some goofing arround if you ask my brothers.

image

Lady is probably the only one who is ready for a second round.

2 thoughts on “Faroese Summer – Shearing Sheep

Leave a Reply

